University of Pittsburgh
June 23, 2010

University of Pittsburgh Will Induct 13 Donors Into the Prestigious Cathedral of Learning Society June 25

Inductees have given lifetime gifts to Pitt totaling $1 million or more
Contact:  412-624-4147

PITTSBURGH-The University of Pittsburgh will celebrate the philanthropic spirit of 13 donors as they are inducted into the Cathedral of Learning Society at a by-invitation-only event at 6 p.m. Friday, June 25, in the Commons Room of the University's landmark Cathedral of Learning, 4200 Fifth Ave., Oakland.__

Established in 1999, the Cathedral of Learning Society recognizes individuals who have given lifetime gifts to the University totaling $1 million or more.

"The Cathedral of Learning is an enduring symbol of our University's most noble aspirations-the attainment of ever-higher levels of achievement and impact as a leader in education, a pioneer in research, and a partner in regional development," said Pitt Chancellor Mark A. Nordenberg. "The commitment and generosity of the members of our Cathedral of Learning Society reflect a belief in Pitt's mission, in our inspiring 223-year record of progress, and in our ever-building institutional momentum. We are deeply grateful for their loyalty and trust and for their remarkable leadership support."

This year's Cathedral of Learning Society inductees are the late W. Harry Archer and the late Louise E. Archer, the late Betty Howard Brenneman and the late David E. Brenneman, Suzanne and James Broadhurst, the late Virginia Campana, Mariann N. Goldstein and Donald M. Goldstein, the late Virginia Kaufman, the late Thomas H. McIntosh, Cathy J. and John H. Pelusi Jr., the late Carl F. Poke, Marian and Harold A. Poling, Dorothy L. Raizman and the late Richard E. Raizman, Constance and E. Ronald Salvitti, and the late Elva S. Smith.

Suzy BroadhurstSuzy Broadhurst

Chancellor Nordenberg also will recognize Dick and Ginny Thornburgh at this year's gala; the Thornburghs were unable to attend the Cathedral of Learning Society dinner when they were inducted into the society in 2008.

Brief biographies of all the honorees can be found at