University of Pittsburgh
May 24, 1999


Contact:  412-624-4147

PITTSBURGH, May 25 -- Mark L. Zeidel, M.D., has been appointed chair of the Department of Medicine and Jack D. Myers Professor of Medicine in the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine.

A native of Massachusetts, Dr. Zeidel completed high school at Phillips Exeter Academy, and received simultaneous B.S. and M.S. degrees in molecular biophysics and biochemistry from Yale in 1976, graduating summa cum laude. He received his M.D. from Columbia University, College of Physicians and Surgeons in 1980. In medical school, he was elected to alpha omega alpha, the national medical honor society, and received the Robert Loeb Award, which is given annually to a single graduating senior "for excellence in clinical medicine."

Dr. Zeidel completed his internship, residency and nephrology training at the Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School, and joined the Harvard faculty in 1986. While at Harvard, he developed a renal consultation and dialysis service at the West Roxbury VA Medical Center. He was recruited to the University of Pittsburgh as associate professor of medicine and chief of the Renal-Electrolyte Division in 1994. He revitalized the division's research program and has renovated both its inpatient and outpatient dialysis units. In 1997 he was appointed interim chair of the Department of Medicine.

Dr. Zeidel's research has focused on the control of salt and water excretion by the kidney. He has made important discoveries in the area of the control of salt transport by atrial natriuretic peptides and in the control of water transport at the molecular level. He has also developed novel approaches to the study of diseases of the bladder such as cystitis and bladder cancer. He has maintained a continuous stream of National Institutes of Health funding since the mid 1980s, and was recently awarded a prestigious NIH MERIT Award for outstanding research. He was elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation in 1993. He also received a Young Investigator Award in 1994 from the American Physiological Society, and has served as associate editor of the American Journal of Physiology since 1996.