University of Pittsburgh
November 28, 2018

Three Pitt Professors Named American Association for Advancement of Science Fellows


High resolution image(s) available >

PITTSBURGH—The American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS) has appointed three University of Pittsburgh professors as members of its 2018 lifetime fellowship cohort.

AAAS will recognize James Woodward, a Distinguished Professor in the Department of History and Philosophy of Science, Jeremy Levy, a Distinguished Professor of Condensed Matter Physics in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, and Adam K. Leibovich, a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, during its annual meeting on February 16.  

Woodward’s areas of research focus on theories of causation, explanation and inductive inference in general philosophy of science, philosophy of psychology and philosophy of social science. He is currently working on a book that examines the relationship between formal theories of causal inference and the causal inferences adults and children actually make. He was president of the Philosophy of Science Association from 2010-2012. 

Levy’s research centers around the field of oxide nanoelectronics, quantum computation, quantum transport and nanoscale optics, semiconductor and oxide spintronics, and dynamical phenomena in oxide materials and films. He is director of the Pittsburgh Quantum Institute, director of the Center for Oxide-Semiconductor Materials for Quantum Computation and director of a multidisciplinary research initiative on quantum preservation, simulation and transfer in oxide nanostructures, in addition to directing several other programs and initiatives. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society.

Leibovich’s work centers on strong and weak interactions of the Standard Model of physics. He uses effective field theory techniques to study heavy quarks to uncover physics beyond the Standard Model. He is also interested in gravitational waves, physics related to the Large Hadron Collider and the physics of extra dimensions, to name a few areas. He is associate dean for faculty recruitment and research development in Pitt’s Kenneth P. Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences and a fellow of the American Physical Society.

The professors were among 416 fellows selected this year who will join a list of distinguished scientists including inventor Thomas Edison, astronomer Maria Mitchell and computer scientist Grace Hopper.



James Woodward

Jeremy Levy

Adam K. Leibovich