University of Pittsburgh
October 3, 1999


Contact:  412-624-4147

PITTSBURGH, Oct. 4 -- University of Pittsburgh Professor Alan Lesgold recently received an honorary doctorate from the Open University of the Netherlands in recognition of his scientific contributions to educational technology and applied educational research.

Lesgold, a Pitt professor for 28 years, is professor of psychology and intelligent systems and executive associate director of the Learning Research and Development Center (LRDC). He founded and directed Pitt's interdisciplinary doctoral program in cognitive science and artificial intelligence.

In addition to his work at the University, Lesgold holds fellowships at the Division of Experimental, Applied, and Educational Psychology of the American Psychological Association and the American Psychological Society. In 1995, he was awarded the Educom Medal by Educom and the American Psychological Association for contributions to educational technology.

Lesgold is past president of the Society For Computers in Psychology and was secretary/treasurer (executive officer) of the Cognitive Science Society from 1988 to 1997. He served on the National Research Council Board on Testing and Assessment from 1993 through 1998 and chaired the board's roundtable on schooling, work, and assessment. Lesgold was a member of the personnel performance panel of the National Research Council (NRC) Committee on Strategic Technologies for the Army and the NRC review committee for the Army Research Laboratory. He served on two Congressional Office of Technology Assessment advisory panels and was the chair of the Visiting Panel on Research of Educational Testing Service.

Open University's board of professors, who approve all doctoral degrees, named Lesgold recipient of the honorary doctorate. Professor Jeroen van Merrienboer presented Lesgold with the degree as part of the University's 15th anniversary celebration. Professor Gerda Smets, chair of the college's board of professors, presided over the ceremony. The Dutch Minister of Education, Science and Culture also attended.