University of Pittsburgh
November 11, 2003

Pitt Dean of Engineering Selected as 2003 AAAS Fellow

Contact:  412-624-4147

PITTSBURGH—Gerald D. Holder, U.S. Steel Dean of Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh, recently was elected as a Fellow to the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world's largest federation of scientists. He is being honored for his leadership and fundamental contribution to the development of thermodynamic properties and phase behavior in fluid-solid systems, especially in the area of gas hydrates.

Holder earned the Ph.D. in chemical engineering from the University of Michigan in 1976 and joined the chemical engineering faculty at Columbia University the same year. In 1979, he came to the University of Pittsburgh and served as the chair of the Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering from 1987 to 1995. Holder became Pitt's Dean of Engineering in 1996. He has received awards for his research and teaching, including the School of Engineering Award for Outstanding Research and the Board of Visitors Faculty Award.

Holder has worked for or consulted with Exxon, General Motors, Gulf Oil, Amoco, Petrobras, Arco, Norsk Hydro, Allied Chemical, Alcoa, and many other corporations. He has served on more than 20 national panels or committees, including the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy, the American Institute of Chemical Engineering, the American Chemical Society, and on the boards of several corporations.

Founded in 1848, AAAS has worked to advance science for human well-being through its projects, programs, and publications in the areas of science policy, science education, and international scientific cooperation. The association has more than 134,000 members from 130 countries and 272 affiliated societies comprising more than 10 million individual members.

Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. Potential new fellows are nominated by AAAS steering groups, the AAAS chief executive officer, or any three current fellows, as long as two of the three are not affiliated with the same organization as the nominee. The tradition of AAAS Fellows distinction began in 1874.