University of Pittsburgh
April 6, 2018

Eleven Pitt Students Awarded 2018 National Science Foundation Fellowships


PITTSBURGHEleven University of Pittsburgh students and four alumni were awarded the 2018 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship. Eleven Pitt students and four alumni also received honorable mentions.

The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program is designed to ensure the vitality and diversity of the scientific and engineering workforce in the United States. The program recognizes and supports outstanding students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees. Fellows receive a three-year annual stipend of $34,000 as well as a $12,000 cost-of-education allowance for tuition and fees. 

 The fellowship program has a long history of selecting recipients who achieve high levels of success in their future academic and professional careers. The support accorded NSF Graduate Research Fellows nurtures their ambition to become lifelong leaders who contribute significantly to both scientific innovation and teaching.

Current Pitt students who were awarded the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship are:

Seniors from the Swanson School of Engineering:

  • Abraham Charles Cullom (civil and environmental engineering)
  • Vani Hiremath Sundaram (mechanical engineering and material science)
  • Adam Lewis Smoulder (bioengineering)
  • Henry Phalen (bioengineering)

Graduate students from the Swanson School:

  • Megan Routzong (bioengineering)
  • Monica Fei Liu (bioengineering)
  • Angelica Janina Herrera (bioengineering)
  • Sarah Hemler (bioengineering)

Graduate students from the Kenneth P. Dietrich School of Arts & Sciences:

  • Brett Baribault Bankson (psychology)
  • Stefanie Lee Sequeira (psychology)
  • Alaina Nicole McDonnell (chemistry)

Several current Pitt students also received honorable mentions:

Swanson School of Engineering: seniors Anthony Joseph O’Brian (chemical and petroleum engineering), Anthony Louis Mercader (mechanical engineering and material science), Zachary Smith (electrical and computer engineering); and graduate student Maria Kathleen Jantz (bioengineering).

Kenneth P. Dietrich School of Arts & Sciences: graduate students Amy Ryan (chemistry), Kathryn Mae Rothenhoefer (neuroscience), Andrea Marie Fetters (biological sciences), Mariah Denhart, (biological sciences), Timothy Stephen Coleman (statistics), Hope Elizabeth Anne Brooks (biological sciences), Mary Elizabeth Rouse Braza (geology and environmental science).

Finally, alumni who were awarded the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship include Thomas Robert Werkmeister (engineering science) and Luke Drnach (bioengineering) from the Swanson School, and Julianne Griffith (psychology and sociology) and Aleza Wallace (psychology) from the Dietrich School.

Alumni who received honorable mentions include Corey Williams (bioengineering) from the Swanson School, Sarah Elise Post (biological sciences), Hannah Katherine Dollish (neuroscience and Slavik studies) and Krista Bullard (chemistry), the latter three from the Dietrich School.

Visit for a full list of fellows and honorable mentions and to learn more about the Graduate Research Fellowship Program.


# # #